Starting Fresh: Setting Goals

I knew my life would never be the same when I went to New Zealand; I was going to gain new experiences and further develop my perspective on the world.  And don’t get me wrong, all of that happened, but I never realized how far I would stray from my mental and emotional norms.

Though my life was insanely busy and hectic, it never really changed when I was at UVM.  I was always busy, and I loved it: I pretty much embodied the common collegiate advice, “work hard, play hard.”  But, as soon as that fall 2010 semester was over, all of my usual responsibilities and activities–class, FeelGood, work, campus life, friends, Ashtanga–literally vanished.  It was a once-in-a-lifetime break (where I got to explore new hobbies, like blogging!) from the stresses of reality, but I felt a bit depressed since the things that had occupied all my time, and everything that I defined myself by, were thousands of miles away.

I learned how to “cope” and slowed down a lot, but I was always secretly pining for that exhilarating lifestyle and somehow fretting over taking so much “time off”… and I never completely felt like myself.  When I got home for the summer, I was eager to begin transitioning back to normal, but I’ve felt as though I am struggling to climb out of a hole – except I don’t remember which way is up.  I have felt completely overwhelmed by jumping right back into it all, and absolutely blind to any sensible starting point.

Yoga has always been the cure to all my problems, but since what I need is mental clarity and I have fallen so far behind on my meditation, that only perpetuates my confusion.  With the idea of yoga in the back of my mind (isn’t it always) I asked myself what I used to rely on the most to help me manage it all.

My planner!!!!  I need to plan!  While trying to think of a good blueprint, lululemon came to mind.  I remembered discussing goals and visions with an employee there once, and receiving a great layout for goal-setting.  For me, the best way to get a hold on my life is to clarify what I want, and develop manageable steps to get there: starting today until I get what I want.  By creating a plan of action, I feel less stressed about getting things accomplished because I know that I am doing my best to get there.  Most importantly, I will have already decided where to start 🙂

I began to set goals for my classes, my job, FeelGood, my apartment, my health, my finances, and my personal life.  I only managed a rough draft for each, plus some brainstorming, but now I’ve got a game plan for life in the works.  Bring. It. On.

Are you a planner?  Do you set goals?  cuz you should.  it helps.

Namaste.

5 Comments

Filed under Life, New Zealand, School, Yoga

5 responses to “Starting Fresh: Setting Goals

  1. Excellent post today. I really enjoyed it very much. Thanks again for posting this.

  2. I like this post – very similar to my very first post on my blog: http://amsdaily.net/2011/06/15/day-1/

  3. I am a huge goal setter. I love to set goals, make lists, write things down. Seeing it on paper makes it so much more…real??

  4. CAssie

    Just curious.. What is FeelGood?? I lov eto plan things! However, I feel like a lot of the time all the lists I make just make me feel more cluttered and counteract the effect I’m going for!!! What kind of planner format do you use.. If any =] I like how you broke down all of the areas to focus on for making your goals. Good idea!

    • FeelGood is a student run non-profit deli, where we make and sell gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, and all the money goes to a world hunger org, The Hunger Project!
      As for the organization thang, I’ll write a post about it soon! 🙂 It’s a very involved process 😉

Leave a Reply

