Healthier Blueberry-Lemon Pound Cake

Thank you so much for all the kind responses to yesterday’s post!  I do want to clarify that I do not think that I need to lose weight, I just wanted to share why I hate the scale: it makes me feel fat if it shows a larger number than I have previously seen.  Even when I am in great shape and loving how I look! xoxo

Today was a fantastic Sunday!  It’s my big brother’s 23rd birthday.  Happy Birthday, Dave!

He got an iPhone. He is happy.

This morning, I joined my parents on their Sunday morning coffee date.  This creature came along, to:

Ghia

I got a nonfat capuccino (with cinnamon!) and had a few bites of a blueberry scone while enjoying some quality time with my parents on the porch of Starbucks.  After two p’nut butt- stuffed dates, I hit the gym for 30 minutes of gettin’ schweaty on the elliptical, followed by a very restorative, cooling yoga class.

After the gym, I went to Village Bagel Co. for lunch with my siblings David and Sam.  I ordered a Harvest Wheat bagel toasted with Spinach and Artichoke cream cheese.  I was so excited to see that flavor because I’ve been craving S&A dip!  We came home to eat the bagels, but we had some of my dad’s fantastic home fries on the side, too.

I also tried some of the egg whites my mom cooked up with leftover asparagus and peppers.

And some yummy peach slices, too!  Juicy and schweet and good.

After David opened presents (he was thrilled to receive a shower curtain from his loving sister ;)) I quickly got ready to see Harry Potter with Dominique and Andy.  My Aunt Paula came along, too!  I saw it last week while I was in Vermont, but I needed to see it with Dominique, too, since our mutual obsession of the series is a huge part of our friendship.  We loved it.  We always do.  I don’t feel comfortable to make any other “concluding” comments because I refuse to believe that it could “conclude!”  I will say that I always think of the movies as more of an interpretation of the books than a depiction, but I really enjoy watching the scenes come to life.

After the movie, the family headed to Ooka Japanese restaurant for David’s birthday dinner.  Edamame, shumai, and sushi rolls were shared by all.  I love going out for sushi since I can’t make it at home.  It’s just plain fun!  I also love how light everything is–I always feel full, but not in a sluggish way.

Gram L. is 86 and it was her first time trying sushi!!! And she LOVED it!  But it wasn’t her first time drinking.

That’s a joke, she just had water 😉

At home, we had cake and ice cream! Well, technically it was chocolate chip cookie dough frozen yogurt, yet equally awesome.  I had mine in a barbie cup.

Quirk about me: I like to stir up my ice cream so that it turns into soft-serve lol

DISCLAIMER: I WOULD NEVER DO THAT TO BEN AND JERRY’S.  Ben and Jerry’s is perfect just the way it is ❤

My mom, Sam and I made the cake yesterday.  Isn’t it beautiful?  I was the one to break it a little bit while taking it out of the pan.  My bad!  I’m not the best baker 😉

I wanted to share the recipe because it’s a lower-calorie, lower-fat twist on pound cake from Cooking Light Magazine (the July/August 1998 issue).  And you would never know the difference!  Its so moist, dense, and full of flavor.  We used freshly-picked blueberries, which helps too 🙂  You must try it.

BLUEBERRY POUND CAKE from Cooking Light

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • ½ cup light butter
  • ½ 8-oz block 1/3 less fat cream cheese, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 large egg white
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, divided
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 8-oz carton lemon low-fat yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • cooking spray
  • ½ cup powdered sugar
  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice
  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Beat first 3 ingredients at medium speed of a mixer until well-blended (about 5 minutes).  Add eggs and egg white, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife.  Combine 2 tablespoons flour and blueberries in a small bowl, and toss well.  Combine remaining flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add flour mixture to sugar mixture alternately with yogurt, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Fold in blueberry mixture and vanilla; pour cake batter into a 10-inch tube pan coated with cooking spray.  Bake at 350* for 1 hour and 10 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  3. Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes; remove from pan.  Combine powdered sugar and lemon juice in small bowl, drizzle over warm cake.  [Note from David: Double the glaze ;)]  Cut with a serrated knife.

Yield 16 servings (serving size: 1 slice); Calories 287 (19% from fat); Fat 6.1g (sat 3.4g, mono 1.8g, poly 0.4g); Protien 5.7g; Carb 53.9g; Fiber 1.5g; Chol 57mg; Iron 1.3 mg; Sodium 227mg; Calc 50mg

Do you have any easy substitutions to healthify your baking?

Namaste.

4 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, Recipes

4 responses to “Healthier Blueberry-Lemon Pound Cake

  1. Mim

    I LOL-ed at the Gram L photo & caption. U R funny!

  2. Village Bagel Co! David once told me “they don’t dick around when it comes to bagels”

  3. Pingback: Spin, Pump, & Read |

  4. Pingback: Legs Up on the Wall |

Leave a Reply

