Quinoa Stir-Fry & The Ekko Park Show

Though I claimed all my dinners henceforth this week would be boring and predictable, last night’s dinner was actually quite interesting!  It was, indeed, stir-fry, but we had some cooked quinoa on hand to use instead of rice 🙂 Wild and crazy, I know!

Here’s how to make Cheater’s Quinoa Stir-Fry

  1. Chop one carrot and some mushrooms, green beans, and broccoli.
  2. Saute the carrots for a few minutes first.
  3. Microwave the broccoli for a minute to soften it up.
  4. Add the rest of the veggies (broccoli, mushroom, and green beans) to the pan.
  5. Add a few dashes of soy sauce.
  6. Add the cooked quinoa.
  7. Pour in a lightly beaten egg.

Try it, you’ll like it!

Our quiz master from trivia at Father Ted’s is in a band, Ekko Park, and they played a free show last night, so of course we were there!  I enjoyed Alex’s leftover Tui before we left:

In the spirit of trivia, here was my Cap-Fact: What is New Zealand’s largest inland city?

………

Hamilton.

The show was AWESOME!  It was late, but short and sweet 🙂 We had such a good time.

That’s our quiz master in the center.  Not only did we feel so cool to know the lead singer, but he’s also really friendly and nice, which makes the whole situation that much cooler!!!  And their music is good, to boot.  This is a music video of my favorite song by them, which happened to be filmed in the very same bar!

So the show was basically just like that!  But in color.  Lol. Except that sadly, there wasn’t a big crowd becuase 1) it was raining, and 2) it’s the Queen’s birthday weekend.  Lame, I say.  Nevertheless, they put on a fantastic show.  We were there and had an absolutely fabulous time!  We also stood right behind their biggest fans, and it was so fun to watch them dance like mad and sing along to every word.  I’m so glad that we got to see his band live before we left.  We have seen the videos so many times and we’ve known Joe for months, so it was about time!

I woke this morning, ready to run in the sun, but guess what? That’s right: hip pain!  So I settled with just taking a 45-minute walk around the domain and photographing ducks and trees.

(The answer to your question, David, is yes, the leaves have fallen and the trees are bare.  I guess I just haven’t been very observant. ;))

When I came home, I realized something that may or may not end up being a crisis-type situation:

That’s a dangerously dwindling supply of instant coffee.

Here’s hoping it lasts the week!!!  I do NOT want to have to buy a whole other package before I go home.  I only use a bit at a time, but I don’t knowwwww….

Fingers crossed!

I am really lucky because I got to talk to my good friend Tara this morning for so long!  She’s back in the states from her semester studying in Ireland.  It was sooo good to see her, but such a tease.  I can’t wait to see her in a few weeks, for REAL!

For lunch, I had a large salad of lettuce, carrots, peppers, and mushrooms, all lightly drizzled in light Italian dressing so that it didn’t taste so….raw.

This is the salad I’ll be eating for the next five days straight.  YUM!

Then, for protein and grains, I made a microwaved egg with S&P, and put it on top a piece of toast with sundried tomato hummus spread on top.

The hummus was new-to-me and it gets my hearty stamp of approval!  YUM!  Lunch left me so satisfied! And it kept me full for ages.

Today, all day, I have been working on my final math project.  And it’s officially whooping my a$$.  My rough draft is done, it’s at over 2500 words, and both my examples and references are weak as.  I’m not sure I can bring myself to do much more today.  So yes, tomorrow will be hellish.

You might already know that I love inspirational videos by children, such as Jessica’s Daily Affirmation, and my brother David sent me another one recently that I just can’t get enough of.

Seriously, I’ve already watched it like 5 times!  It’s helping with the project: I can do it because I believe in myself!  This video might make tomorrow slightly less torturous….

At least I have some pure joy to indulge in!

That’s right, M&M brownies (Rose, you created a monster!)

It’s the perfect pick-me-up.  And necessary for finals.  Well, my final week of school, that is 😉

Have you been to a good concert lately?

Namaste.

7 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, Running, School, Travel

7 responses to “Quinoa Stir-Fry & The Ekko Park Show

  1. that quinoa stir fry looks really good! how do you compare it to a stir fry with rice? just as tasty? :]

  2. I have trouble eating quinoa that isn’t seasoned. It’s a bit…earthy for me.
    THAT VID IS SO INSPIRATIONAL. love it.
    If you finish the coffee, who cares?! DONT DRINK COFFEE. There’s my hypocritical public service announcement for the day.
    Also, aren’t you lucky, you get to see the leaves fall TWICE this year!

    • try qunioa with soy sauce! it’s really nice! also, I know I shouldn’t drink coffee, but since I only have one cup a day, I don’t find it obtrusive into my health for some reason. But I do miss a good AM mug of green tea in my life! ps – i love you

  3. I love using quinoa instead of rice!! Rafe isn’t a big fan but, I insist on using my ‘weird grains’ (his words not mine) from time to time.

    Do you still have that starbucks card? I’ll put $5 on it to get you through coffee withdrawals. I am an avowed coffee drinker – I know its so anti yoga but I just need it. I tried to give it up once (just a cup or two a day) and I was miserable.

  4. Pingback: How to Use Rice Paper |

Leave a Reply

