Sciatic Nerve Pain: My Hips Don’t Lie

Last night when I got back from yoga, I was having some serious hip pain.  This morning when I woke up, I was still having some serious hip pain.  I was born with my hips dislocated (they eventually got lodged back into place), so I’ve always had hip problems.  Plus, out of all the many wonderful things I inherited from my mother, I also inherited her sciatica.  I have suffered from sciatic nerve pain since I was like 12! (Which is probably why I sometimes get knee pains from running.)  Last night, I’m pretty sure I stressed my left knee and/or hip, causing some irritation in my left sciatic nerve.  I can actually pinpoint the exact moment: during Ardha Baddha Padma Uttanasana, a.k.a. “half-bound standing forward stretch.”

You stand and bring right your foot into lotus position, grabbing your big toe with your right hand, then fold forward to touch the floor.  I have absolutely no problem doing it on the right side, and I got over-confident last night and strained my left side.  I remember thinking it hurt (not in a “yoga hurts so good” kind of way) and immediately coming out of the posture, saying a little prayer that it didn’t hurt in the morning. Well, crap.

So that ruined my plans to run today, seeing as I could barely walk without limping around like a pirate (at least that’s pretty B.A., right?)

Needless to say, I’ve been doing lots of hip stretching to try and ease the pain.

This is a very modified version of Yogimudrasana.  Sit cross-legged, but try and make your bottom leg come straight out from your hip, making a right angle at the knee.  Then, fold the other leg directly on top, with ankle past the bottom knee.  Some day, you lean forward and your legs are perfectly stacked on top of one another.  It’s not easy, but fabulous for both your hips and knees.

And, yes, I am wearing two different socks.  Even cooler, one has a hole in the heel!

Other stretches I’ve been doing are pigeon and a simple knee-to-chest.  It feels like a massage!  One yoga teacher I had once had said, “pull your knee to your chest as hard as you can and save yourself a hip replacement later in life!”  I should probably do this everyday, lol!

I would love to put it under a heating pad, but I am going to ice it late tonight for probably 20 minutes and see if that relieves any pain.  I can hear my mom saying, “take it easy” from here, so that’s what I’ll be doing until it feels better.  I DO NOT want to stress it even more.  That means walking, gentle yoga, and ab + arm strengthening for a couple of days.

I forgot to mention earlier that breakfast was extra special today.  Do you know why?…..

Nearly-empty jar of peanut butter means Oatmeal-in-a-Jar!  I just cooked my oatmeal the regular way and ate it out of the jar, getting a nice scoop of p’nut butt- with each bite!  DIVINE!

After class, I took inventory of what was in our kitchen…

  • Red Kidney Beans
  • Quinoa
  • Chard
  • Diced tomatoes in tomato juice
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • S&P
  • Cayenne Pepper (just a pinch)

Put it all together and what have you got?  A ridiculously cheap, easy, healthy, and delicious dinner!  I just sauteed the onions and garlic, then added everything else (but the quinoa) and let it simmer.  Serve atop cooked quinoa and PRESTO!  Did I mention it was filling?  I had just one sensibly sized bowl.  No over-eating tonight!

Any secret remedies for relieving sciatic nerve pain?

Namaste.

17 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, Running, Yoga

17 responses to “Sciatic Nerve Pain: My Hips Don’t Lie

  1. I’m totally wearing odd sock right now too 😀 Hope the pain eases for you!

  2. Sciatic nerve pains are nasty. Hope a little rest, light yoga and icing helps you.

  3. Emma – I can totally empathize with you!! I hurt myself one time in Ardha Baddha Padma Uttanasana. I can do the right side no problem, but the left side is hit or miss with binding – once I pushed it too far and totally hurt my knee. Now I modify the pose – its not ‘true’ ashtanga, but I’d like to practice when I’m 90!! Instead of binding, I hold my left foot in my right hand, and support my knee with my left. I focus on keeping the hips aligned and the knee above the ankle for a bit of a hip stretch. Also keep shoulders low and straight and stand tall. Still works balancing while keeping me from blowing out my knee! (I can send a photo if it helps)

    Feel better!! Ice and Ibuprofen for the swelling.

  4. I LOVE OATMEAL IN A JAR. Also Vegan Cookie Dough in a jar. Something about the jar just makes it SO MUCH MORE DELICIOUS, and super portable! Once I made a double batch of vegan cookie dough in a jar and brought it to work TWO DAYS IN A ROW (refrigerating in between) and I’m pretty sure it was the best two breakfasts of my life. YUM

  5. Oh my… I think we are the same person!

    Not only do we have the same theme for a blog, but I also have hip and SI nerve problems. I’m glad that you found me so that I could find YOU! 🙂

    -Allison

  6. Pingback: A Weird Sandwich & A Personal Problem |

  7. I was born with a dislocated hip too! 🙂 The stretches look really helpful. I’ve also had 2 surgeries on my other hip for other reasons.

  8. Pingback: The Power of a Great Date |

  9. Pingback: Quinoa Stir-Fry & The Ekko Park Show |

  10. Pingback: Tomato Carrot Risotto |

  11. Bonnie Prudden’s PAIN ERASURE.
    $12 book saved me $1,000 year doctor costs.
    Read all the way through two pages of instructions BEFORE following them.
    There’s a warning about being gentle on one trigger point — that you might fly off the table.
    I was lying on the dining room table, & my husband was putting pressure on the right spots, in sequence, as I read the instructions.

    The warning came too late. 😊
    Wasn’t funny at the time.
    I later went to Massage Therapy college — & Bonnie Prudden’s myotherapy is still the fastest fix.
    I still carry a tennis ball in the car to fix a flare-up — used to happen a lot — not so much now that I have back-saver strategies for lift/carry.
    Hope that this works well for you.
    Warm regards,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

