New Zealand Chili

Today has been a great day.

Firstly, I woke up with a headache, which most people would consider a downer, but I like to think of it as a little souvenir from all the fun I had last night! 😉  It’s been a while lol.  The great thing about my body is that whenever I have a headache, I can usually cure it with some food.

French toast with PB&J…and a smashed grilled banana.  Worked like a charm, ohhh yes indeed.

Secondly, it’s a beautifully sunny day outside, and I went for a fantastic run/walk around the city.  On this perfectly crisp autumn afternoon, there were tons of gorgeous boats out on the harbor.   I think I will miss this city ❤

Thirdly, my big brother graduates from Brown University today!!!!

He’s definitely one of my role models.  I’ve always looked up to him, basking in his genius 😉  He now has a degree in Computational Biology (whatever that is), and he has worked his butt off the get it.  So yes, I get bragging rights!

I really wish I could have been there, but also not really, because who wants to sit through a graduation ceremony?  I do wish I could be there for the celebrations, of course.  And to give him a bug hug and tell him how proud I am of him!  Congratulations, David!  YOU DID IT. (PS – we can celebrate when you arrive in less than 2 weeks!!!!)

Fourthly, I had a quick chat with my dear friend Tara!

She has been studying abroad in Ireland, and she gave me some great advice:

“Enjoy your last few weeks…seriously, make EVERYTHING count.  It goes sosooso fast, I cant believe I wont be going back to Galway.”
It was so good to hear from her, made even better with the promise of a proper Skype sesh in the near future!  It’s been ages!
Fifthly, I finished my Maori Leadership Presentation!
The photo of Bill Clinton doing the hongi definitely enhances my slideshow. I’m glad I found it.  Even my note cards are ready! I’m all set to go for Wednesday.  I’m only slightly stressed because I haven’t heard much from the other two members of my group…so cross your fingers for me!
Sixthly, I made a great dinner!  I’ve been craving chili for a while now, so I thought it would be a perfect Sunday night meal on a beautiful autumn day like today.
New Zealand Chili
**note – there is nothing “New Zealand-y about this recipe.  I just made it in NZ lol
First, I started by sauteing a chopped onion, carrot, and three cloves of garlic in a large pot.
I wasn’t sure what to do about seasonings, so I am really glad that I found this in the “International” section. I added some to the veggies.
Soon, I added some sausage which frankly, we are trying to get rid of.  They are sort of cheap and disgusting.  I figured cooking them in the chili would make them less appealing…
Things began to go a bit downhill from here.  The sausage was revoltingly greasy, so much so that I even had to pour some of it out.  Then, I got nervous because at the store I couldn’t find a can of crushed tomatoes (what I usually use as a base).  I got this tomato paste, and with some water it ended up working well.
Then, when I went open up the can of diced tomatoes, it was basically half crushed tomatoes and half diced tomatoes.  DOH!  I just added a few spoonfuls of the chunks.  But now I have tons leftover!  Perhaps I’ll be making another pot soon.
I added a can of mixed beans, plus more chili seasoning and even some cayenne pepper, to taste.  It ended up being a pretty decent pot of chili!
It was nice and spicy, the way I like it (sorry, Hannah! lol).  The chili was made even more better with some of the crispy cheddar crackers that Hannah’s Nana sent us!
The perfect meal 🙂
The only un-fun thing that happened today was that Alex left 😦  These past two weeks were quite the roller-coaster for me, and they FLEW by, to say the least.  It was great to have Alex here because of all the fun stuff we did, but I am so so so thankful that he was here when I got the news about my Nanny.  He served as the perfect distraction and did a great job at cheering me up 🙂  Plus, it was just so nice to have a close friend with us: he was the little bit of home that I needed.  We are going to miss you, Alex!
But really the most important thing he did for me was renew my love of New Zealand.  With my homesickness and boredom, I sort of lost sight of how lucky I am to be here.  But seeing everything new again through his eyes makes me so excited for my last month here!  I am definitely going to follow Tara’s advice…I LOVE NEW ZEALAND!
What is your favorite ingredient in chili?
Namaste.
14 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, Running

14 responses to “New Zealand Chili

  1. Pingback: New Zealand Chili | | Today Headlines

  2. Oops, I thought that first photo was of a lumpy grilled cheese sandwich! 😛 Much prefer the peanut butter reality 😉 And here’s to awesome brothers! I’ve got a rather fabulous one myself 🙂

  3. YUmmmm! I love chili….I don’t know what my favorite ingredient is…maybe its the spice or the cumin….so good!

  4. You went wrong by using home brand – it’s ghastly stuff .. 🙂
    What sort of sausages were you using ?
    Enjoyed yr post!

    • I’ll know I’ve made in this world when I don’t have to buy cheap home brand crap! …and I’m too embarrassed to tell you what kind of sausages I used. My only advice is not to buy the cheapest ones 😉

      • ROTFL .. not all sausages are created equal eh 😉
        You’re in NZ buying Home Brand (Aussie!) foods .. stick to NZ Made .. Watties is a reputable and good quality (mostly) brand but PAMS is pretty good too for ‘some’ (generic) products, I’ve founds..
        Budget and Home brand are two I just find almost too budget ie they’re cheap but they’re not good enough to enjoy using if that makes sense 🙂

      • I know what you mean. I’m making major compromises!! but I do love PAMS, that’s pretty good stuff!

  5. You are right to enjoy your New Zealand stay as much as you can. There are going to be later years in your life when you are so busy with family that you won’t have any time for international traveling.

    🙂 Marion

    P.S. I don’t know how you manage to make all your food look so good!

  6. Pingback: I <3 The Vegan Zombie |

  7. Pingback: A Weird Sandwich & A Personal Problem |

  8. Pingback: The Power of a Great Date |

Leave a Reply

