Apple Pie & Peanut Butter Swirl Oatmeal

Things are still a bit…weepy around here, but I’m trying to use yoga to cultivate just as much peace within myself.  As in, live in the moment and accept my feelings as they come, but also to fluff away excess negativity.  For example, I let myself grieve while I am writing emails to my family, but at bedtime, I make an effort to put sadness to sleep for the night too.  One thing that is helping is reading:

I am still reading The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory.  It’s positively consuming, so it’s the perfect way to put bad thoughts out of my head before bed.  But I only have about 50 more pages to go!  I guess I’ll be heading to the library soon!

Dominique (she just started her own blog – woohoo!) and I were talking the other day about how there are few things more comforting than a good bowl of oats.  They are warm, filling, homey, sweet, and nourishing, so naturally I make them nearly every morning.  But lately, they have been serving as a little extra soul comfort for me.  I made a special little concoction the other day that I am excited to share.  It may look like a typical bowl of oatmeal, but oh-no it’s not! 

Oatmeal for the Soul

Apple Pie & Peanut Butter Swirl Flavor

First, chop half an apple into very small cubes.  Add it to a pot with ¼ cup of oats, and a little more than ½ cup of a milk/water combo.  Add a lot of cinnamon, and then bring to a boil.  Let simmer while stirring constantly for about 8 minutes.  Pour it into a bowl on top of a spoonful of peanut butter and swirl.  [You may also want need to add chocolate buttons on top.]  Then eat while standing up in your roommate’s bedroom saying, to yourself, “mmmm!  This tastes like apple pie, but with peanut butter swirl!” while you should be helping her answer apartment emails.  (Just kidding, of course I helped her. ;))

Any book recommendations, especially ones that are uplifting?

Namaste.

14 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes

14 responses to “Apple Pie & Peanut Butter Swirl Oatmeal

  1. tara

    I’m reading “Memoirs of A Geisha” which is really good and consuming.

    If you’re looking for chick lit, try Cecilia Ahern (wrote P.S I Love You).

    Sarah’s Key is good also and mentions my hometown!

    I’ve heard good things about “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.”

    “The Hunger Games” series.

    Harry Potter 🙂

  2. Dominique

    I lie to you not, I JUST made that exact same oatmeal (almost!). I used STEEL-CUT OATS though, and mixed in apples, chunky peanut butter (for crunch), brown sugar, coconut, and chocolate chips. YUM! Great minds must think alike!!
    I’m thinking about reading “The Help”, which is coming out as a movie soon. My mom really likes and recommended it!

  3. I put peanut butter in my oatmeal after seeing your post.

    🙂 Marion

  4. Becca

    The Help is AMAZING!
    as is The art of racing in the rain. and right now I’m reading Room which is great so far! I’m so sorry about your grandmother Em- I love you and I’m thinking of you always.

  5. Miranda

    To link in with what you wrote in your teaching post about writing being the true mastery of a language – you should read The Eyre Affair, by Jasper Fforde. It has seriously changed the way I read all books and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  6. You should read some david sedaris – he’ll have you laughing out loud….I also recently read a book “I was told there’d be cake” – Also really funny – it would help cheer you up!!

  7. Pingback: A Perfect Saturday Morning |

  8. Pingback: A Weird Sandwich & A Personal Problem |

  9. Pingback: How to Make Spaghetti Healthier |

Leave a Reply

