Third-Wheeling is Fun!

How could it not be with these cuties?

Alex + Hannah = L<3VE

After our massively festive dinner, we took Alex with us on our Tuesday night ritual:  Trivia at Father Ted’s!  Though Alex claimed himself a “Division-1 Partier,” over 24 hours of travel, including time travel, and little sleep left him pretty much half dead before the quiz even started.   Our little trio (named “The Sleep Heads” tonight) came in last place, again, but it was still a super fun night.  We laughed a lot, learned a lot, and eagerly split the complimentary bowl of spring rolls between the three of us. 🙂

The real highlight of the night was that Alex bought me my Guinness!  A real gentlemen knows that you can’t just buy a drink for your girlfriend, you’ve gotta get one for her girlfriend, too 😉

Thanks so much, Alex!  Third-wheeling is FUN!

This morning after breakfast (coffee with soymilk, a mandarin, and a mini bowl of banana-cinnamon oats with p’nut butt-),

I made a very pathetic attempt at getting work done.  I did complete my final paper for my Reading course (woot woot!), but I am struggling with the other assignment I currently have on my plate. For the first time in a blissfully long time, I have to write a 1500 word essay on something other than education.  SHOCKER!!!!  For my Maori culture class, I need to write a research paper on the Treaty of Waitangi.  No me gusta.  Though I find the subject really interesting and I have loved the lectures on the topic, I am having a seriously hard time getting motivated to research.  It’s actually getting to be a pretty desperate situation.  It’s not due for two weeks, but I just wasted the entire morning not.accomplishing.a.thing.  uh-oh!

After a snack of vampire toast with 1/2 a banana,

I let myself go on a yoga break that I did not deserve.  The beginner Ashtanga class at Auckland Yoga Academy which I usually attend on Wednesdays was a bit different today.  I think there was some sort of teacher-training going on, because there was an extra instructor in the room giving assists.  The normal teacher didn’t explain anything, and the assistant (pun intended!) gave me quite a few adjustments.  In fact, she adjusted my downdog TWICE in a row!  ?  I’ve done hundreds of downdogs in my lifetime and this was the first time anyone adjusted me.  She wanted me to move my feet closer to my hands and farther apart from each other.  I love downdog assists (where they push you deeper into it), but I didn’t feel like it was a legitimate enough adjustment to make TWICE in a row.

Then in forward fold and two of my backbends, she told me that my feet weren’t correctly parallel, and she would barely adjust them, only about a millimeter.  ? again.  Of course I want to have the right alignment, but something about these assists irked me.  I think it’s because to me, she was some a random lady and I didn’t trust her to know what she was talking about.  Maybe I was easy to practice on or something, like I just needed minor adjustments?  I don’t know!

When I got home, I had to rush to get dressed and eat lunch to be on time for class.  I shoveled in a huge, healthy lunch:

On the plate there were carrot sticks, green pepper slices, wholemeal grain toast, an egg, Swiss chard, and pumpkin-kumara hummus.  It was a sandwich, it was a salad, it was a great meal!

After class (which was particularly boring and long today, may I add), I skipped my second class to meet Alex at Father Ted’s.  Guilty!  When else in my life am I going to be able to meet my bro for a happy hour (half) pint of Guinness, in New Zealand?  The answer is never, especially because I am a goody-two-shoes and it took enough courage for me to skip one class!

I was ravenous with hunger when I got there, so I also ordered potato wedges with sweet chili sauce and sour cream.  Hannah joined us soon after she left class so we shared them among the three of us.  The perfect snack!

For dinner, Alex wanted Chinese food, and Hannah found a superb Food Court devoted to Asian cuisine.

Thai, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Malaysian – SO many options to choose from!  It was even two floors!

We made sure to check out each place before we settled.  The best part was that any meal would be less than nz$13.  Sweet!  We finally chose a Chinese place, The Clay Pot, since that’s what we had initially set out for.

Everyone’s meal was AWESOME.  We were all really happy.  🙂

Especially ME!!!

For just nz$9, I got a JUMBO bowl of rice, vegetables, and tofu in a spicy sauce.  It was to so so so yummy.  I loved how spicy it was!

I couldn’t eat very much after the beer and fries, so naturally I brought the rest home.  I can’t wait for leftovers – I think I even have enough for two more meals!

Third-wheeling is SO much fun.

How do you feel about assists/adjustments in yoga?

Namaste.

11 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, School, Travel, Yoga

11 responses to “Third-Wheeling is Fun!

  1. What do I feel about yoga adjustments? I hate them quite a lot when they are happening. However, I like them a little better when I am by myself working on the pose and thinking about what the adjustment meant. Still–2 adjustments on down dog seems wrong. Obviously, you know down dog. This assistant probably is doing this to make HERSELF look like she is helping people in front of the instructor. This probably isn’t about you at all. And my oldest daughter, age 21, says yoga instructors only adjust people who are pretty good at yoga. They leave the obvious newbies alone, for fear that they won’t come back again. : -) Marion

  2. Hannah and Alex are so CUTE together! He sounds like a keeper – such nice manners!

    About assists….ask me on a different day and you’ll get a different answer…Like anything with yoga some days its good, and other days it makes me mad or self conscious. When I practiced in Boston nobody ever correct my down dogs – then when I moved to CT I got corrections all the time….
    And then when I did teacher training it was so interesting to learn how different people pick up on different things….

    So sometimes adjustments feel great, and other times they irk me – but if a teacher is ever doing something you’re not comfortable with you’re completely in your rights to tell them that you’re not into it.

    An assistant once really hurt me in Prasarita Paddotanasana by pushing me too far. (Don’t worry – I’m not a crazy ashtangi who knows all the sanskrit by heart…i had to look that up).

  3. “When else in my life am I going to be able to meet my bro for a happy hour (half) pint of Guinness, in New Zealand?”

    Hmmmmm let me think……umm in a few weeks!

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Saves the Day! | Namaste Everyday

  5. Pingback: 20-20-20 Dash | Namaste Everyday

  6. Miranda

    You find the Treaty interesting?? Going to law school meant years of lectures on the stupid topic – I hated every single minute of it. It may have been better if there wasn’t a Maori activist student in the class who accused every single white person there of abusing her mother as a child (??) and being racist pigs…

    I have been to that Food Court and it’s awesome! Your blog makes me homesick (even though I didn’t live in Auckland)

  7. Pingback: Over Eating: How I Cope |

Leave a Reply

