Alex is finally here!

The very first thing I did this morning was enjoy two dates with p’nut butt- while skying with my mom.

It was fuel for my run!  My knees were irking me before I even moved around this morning, which was very concerning.  I initially set out for a walk, but once I got warmed up, I could run completely pain-free!  I only did about 30 minutes, but I did so very comfortably, so I was pleased.  🙂

Once I was home, I made sure to do some serious yoga stretches for my hamstrings, knees, and hips, BUT my knees started to hurt again!!! What gives?  I think I may have pushed myself a bit too far during yoga, since these days I have the mindset of: this is your only time to formally practice this week–make it count! and although it feels great in the moment, it leaves me a little tight the next day.

When I got home, I had to eat breakfast and get dressed super quick…

Banana-cinnamon oatmeal, coffee, and mandarin

because Alex is finally here!

And we needed to get to the grocery store lol.  He arrived safe and sound, though a bit tired and hungry.  Nothing a ham sandwich, a beer, and a nap won’t fix!

For lunch, I had my leftovers from last night’s yoga dinner!

Yellow rice with curried potatoes, carrots, tomatoes, and chickpeas.   YUM!

I also had a mandarin because citrus gives you ENERGY!

Unfortunately, I couldn’t spend a whole lot of time catching up with Alex since I had class this afternoon, but we have a big celebration planned for the evening!.  To hold me over until dinner, I had some vampire toast, a mandarin (yes, my third of the day, but who’s counting?), and an apple.

I posted yesterday about my chronic low energy lately, but it’s amazing how much Alex has lifted my spirits.  Alex isn’t just my best friend’s boyfriend, he’s also one of MY best friends!  He’s so great to talk to, he can always make me laugh, he teases me relentlessly, and I trust him with my life.  In fact, he’s actually more like a brother to me.  I’ve missed him so much!  It’s going to be a wicked fun two weeks 🙂

How do you keep from “over doing it” while exercising?

Namaste.

6 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Running, School, Yoga

6 responses to “Alex is finally here!

  1. kath pace

    This happens to me too..although I am MUCH older and it is more likely at my age. But from my running experience and coaching of girls track I have a few suggestions that you may not want to hear. 1..make sure your stretching form is correct.
    2…if your body is coming down with something(illness) you/your joints may be “weaker”
    3…if you are tired or stressed you may be “weaker”.
    4…don’t over do it one day then not do anything for days. Your body will scream at you and the results are not good.
    5..but all that said…I believe you should work out at a good intensity if that is your norm..@ 5 days a week with one easy easy day and one rest day. This all depends on YOU
    6…ALWAYS listen to your body it is the only one you’ve got.
    7..now get to work and do some yoga…easy does it..you DO love your knees!
    8…don’t ever forget that ICE is your friend. It will never hurt to sit after a work out, relax with a bag of ice!

  2. Pingback: Homemade Meatballs | Namaste Everyday

  3. Pingback: New Zealand Chili |

  4. Pingback: A Weird Sandwich & A Personal Problem |

  5. Pingback: Quinoa Stir-Fry & The Ekko Park Show |

Leave a Reply

