Honey-Curry Tofu

Last week, I was super pumped when I found a whole package of organic tofu for less than nz$4!!! If that ain’t a steal, then I don’t know what is 🙂  I was more than pleased!

Since Alex is arriving the day after tomorrow, I figured that tonight would be a good night to have it for dinner  Better hid the evidence… 😉

Seriously I just want to bite into it!  I try and stay away form soy products, but I just think that tofu tastes…..so…..GOOD!!

I would indeed get immense joy from just chomping at that chunk, but I decided to make it taste even better by marinading it.

To make the Honey-Curry Marinade, I mixed together:

  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/8 cup soymilk
  • 1/8 cup oil
  • 2 tsp shredded coconut
  • 1 heaping tsp of curry powder

I sliced the block, dipped the pieces in the marinade, placed them in a pan, and poured the remaining juices on top.

I let it marinade in the fridge allllll afternoon.

Meanwhile, I had a fairly productive day, doing lots of work for teaching and Skyping with Dominique (the genius behind my “how to resist sweets” tips).  She was even there to witness my afternoon snack.  An apple and p’nut butt-!

I also did my dorm room strength training routine since I realized I hadn’t done anything active yet today!  Oy.

Dinner time rolled around, I pan-fried the tofu until it crispified on the edges.

Then I took the leftover marinade and sauteed the veggies in it:  1 small onion, some broccoli, and a carrot.  I microwaved the carrot and broccoli before so that they were already softened a bit.  It saves a lot of time!

Hannah was the Brown Rice Boss.

Dinner is served!

Food-tastic meal!

Do you have a good tofu-marinade?

Namaste.

7 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, School

7 responses to “Honey-Curry Tofu

  1. Pingback: Mock Peking Duck

  2. Dominique

    how did you get the tofu to cut into such nice pieces? even with extra-firm tofu, i really struggle to get it to not crumble when i cut it and when i pan fry it.

  3. YUM!! Great marinade. I had a japanese friend suggest to me a marinade for tofu 1 part mirin, 1 part soy sauce. I didn’t have mirin so I subbed honey mixed with water….I use this when I bake tofu….gives it a really umami flavor.

  4. oh wow! that looks great! What a good idea for tofu!

  5. Pingback: Energy, Energy, ENERGY! | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

