Dorm Room Strength Training

Yet another rough night at trivia:

Instead of a celebrity photo round, there were pictures of flags and we had to name to corresponding nation!  Impossible.  Thank god for Greece and Mexico.   At least the complimentary snacks were good!

Vegetarian spring rolls, woot woot! I had 3 😀

Needless to say, we came in last place.  Again.  Alex will be here next week, so maybe his extensive random knowledge will help us!

This morning, I ACCIDENTALLY SLEPT IN UNTIL PAST 9:30AM!!!! Who am I!?  How did that happen!?  Maybe because it looks like this outside:

Or it could also have been the two pints of Guinness I imbibed last night.  [Note to self:  Stick to 1.5 next week!]

I’m usually up at 7:30am and by 9:30am, I have already exercised, eaten breakfast, and gotten myself dressed and ready for the day.  So I dove right into things.  Ate a rushed brekkie:

Vampire toast and a fried egg on toast.  I used WAY too much oil this morning, whoopsie-daisy!  So it was extra delicious, ba-ha!  I had a coffee, too, obvi.

After a quick shower, I did some hurried chores (cleaning the bathroom–yuck!) and errand-running (printing and topping-up my bus card) before class.  A whole lot of excitement, I know! 😉

Lunch was nice and fresh:

Salad greens with 1/2 rep bell pepper, lentils, and a dash of lite Italian dressing.  On the side, carrot sticks and pumpkin-kumara hummus.

During my Maori culture class, I snacked on some almonds.  I also had three cheese-and-crackers and a mandarin orange after class.  Sorry no pictures!  I was busy pondering the topic for my Maori Final Essay…not fun lol  Still pondering it now, actually…

But I would rather write about my workout for the day!  Though yoga gives me a good deal of strength-training, I have noticed myself losing some of my gun-power since I can’t formally practice as much in NZ.  Thus, I’ve devised an easy, simple, and quick dorm-room accessible strength-training workout!  As long as you have space to lay out a yoga mat, then you have enough space to do do all of these moves.  No weights necessary, your body weight is enough!

The routine:

  • 5 Planks
  • 15 Forward Lunges
  • 20 Push-Ups
  • Pilates Ab Series
  • Handstands
  • 15 Backward Lunges
  • 5 Teasers
  • 5 Chair Poses

I shall explain!

Planks  In my opinion, planks are pretty much the best strength training exercise out there.  It strengthens your entire core from your abs to your lower back, and it even firms up your tush and arms!  Plus, you don’t even have to move!  Perfect for doing in limited space.  Just assume the plank position and hold for 1 minute, rest for 30 seconds.  I always shake like mad during the last 15 seconds!  God, I weigh a lot! 😉  That’s a joke.

Forward lunges  Obviously great for strengthening your entire lower body, but it also works your core as you stabilize yourself!  Stand with your hands on your hips, then take a step forward so that your back knee almost touches the ground and your front knee is right above your ankle.  Return to center and repeat with the other leg.

Push-ups  Definitely the most challenging thing ever, but a really great way to build arm strength (and core strength!).  I always start by doing as many regular push-ups as I can (I could do 8 today!) and then I do the rest modified.

Pilates Ab Series  Watch this video for a good demonstration (the ab series starts at 3:30).  I didn’t have enough room for the second exercise, so I omitted it.  I also don’t rest in between, but you can gradually build up enough strength to go straight through.  For the 4th exercise, I usually add a little bum lift at the top for an extra crunch.

Handstands  Relax, I can’t do handstands, either.  But actually, practicing doing handstands is a great workout on your arms.  Also, once you can balance on your hands, it’s good for your core as you try and stay still.  I spend a few minutes (about one song) trying to do a handstand against the wall.  It’s tiring!  And FUN!

Backward lunges  The same as forward lunges only you are taking steps back.

Teasers  This is really similar to nvasana.  Lie on your back with your arms above your head.  Then fold up into a v-shape with your body, balancing on your bum.  Hold you arms out at your side, parallel to the floor.  Hold for 5 breaths, then slowly lower back to start.

Chair Pose  Stand with your feet together, then bend your knees as much as you can and sweep your arms straight overhead.  Hold for 5 breaths, concentrating on tucking your tailbone in and drawing your knees back so that they are directly over the ankles.  I like to rest in a forward fold.

Finally, don’t forget to blast trashy music.  It’s compulsory.  I’ve learned that you can’t build muscle without it.

This workout reminds me that we are limitless.  Don’t let low square-footage, a lack of a gym membership, or anything else in life prevent you from feeling your best.  No excuses.  With a little creativity and persistence, you have the potential to make the changes you want to see in yourself.

“If you don’t like a something, change it.  If you can’t change it, change your attitude.”  – Maya Angelou

After my workout, I threw together dinner with the remnants of our foodstash:

Quinoa and Shrimp with satueed Broccoli and Carrots.  And a hell of a lot of garlic.

Hannah and I both had stressful evenings, so we splurged on dessert:

At least ice cream bars encourage portion control!

How do make adaptations to workouts?

Namaste.

15 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand

15 responses to “Dorm Room Strength Training

  1. Mim

    We struggled with a flag handout at our trivia too! (Thank goodness for Mr. Schmitzer & Mr. Burrage!)

  2. kath pace

    flags are hard…hope you learned a few. I am sure Alex will put you guys in the top rankings! HEY…take time to clean your room up!!!!!!!love ya!

  3. I thought your workout was great. Yep, planks make me feel like a super-lunk. Have you tried 1-legged planks (with other leg up in the air)? Those are crazy! 🙂 Marion

  4. i LOVE the dormroom workout! I don’t live in a dorm but I do live in a small one-bedroom apartment where I always have to move the kitchen table out of the way to do my yoga videos. Your workout seems to really get your butt in gear, without any weights! Perfect:) Definitely going to try that out!

  5. You are too cute; love the photos with the ice pops…great yoga workout…I need to get myself back into yoga and you’re inspiring me!

  6. Miranda

    I go to quiz night pretty regularly, they’re so hard!! It’s such random knowledge. We’ve all committed to reading the paper everyday so that we smash the current affairs round!!

  7. Pingback: “And now for the Dancing Pants” | Namaste Everyday

  8. Pingback: Honey-Curry Tofu | Namaste Everyday

  9. Pingback: Energy, Energy, ENERGY! | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

