What I Eat on Sick Days ;)

I spent my sick day blogging and watching You Tube videos.  Here is such a precious video that made me tear up and miss my daddy:

I also watched this really cool video with Beyonce!  She is leading an exercise routine that is supposed to encourage kids to get active!

The video is part of Michelle Obama’s campaign Let’s Move which aims to improve the health of our youth.  I think educating children to make healthy lifestyle choices is just as important as teaching them literacy and numeracy, so I am really excited to learn about this project!

I’ve spent a lot of time listening to music on You Tube, especially to my favorite band right now, Avalanche City.  They are a native New Zealand band and I am in love with their beautiful song “Love Love Love.”  It’s wicked popular here in NZ, as it should be all around the world!

I have also spent a lot of time in the kitchen, which has been kept very clean today, mysteriously enough….hmmmmm….

I started to get hungry, so Hannah and I shared a plate of nachos which consisted of the leftovers from last nights chip and salsa (beneath a light melting of cheese!)

Sometimes I appreciate our low-power microwave.  It melted the cheese without soggy-ing up the chips!  Perfection!

But I still wasn’t satisfied, so I decided to make another little snack.  I took our Italian herb paste…

…and spread it on a piece of (slightly burnt) toast, just like pesto!

I added a hard-boiled egg and S&P on top.

My favorite lunches lately are those comprised of a bunch of different snacks.  You get to have a little bit of everything, and it helps me snack less in the afternoon!

I also pre-cooked the rest of our lentils.  Aren’t they gorgeous?

Perfect for salads, pastas, stir-fries, soups…and frittatas!  For dinner tonight I made a frittata inspired by one over at Kath Eats Read Food.

To start, I preheated my microwave on the “grill” setting (with the pan inside to heat it up, too).  Then, I sauteed some green beans with a little S&P.

Meanwhile, I combined 4 eggs with 1/3 cup of lentils, 2 tbsps sesame seeds, shredded cheese, and 1 tsp cayenne pepper.

I put the sauteed green beans on the bottom of the hot pan, then poured the egg mixture on top

Into the “grill” it went!  It took about 11-12 minutes, and it came out beautifully!

Spicy Bean Lentil Frittata  I ate it with a side salad of field greens.

It was super delicious!  Nice and spicy, with fluffy eggs and a whisper of cheese flavor 🙂  Plus I just love green beans!  Did I like them as a kid, mom?

A fabulous dessert followed this fabulous dinner.  We’ve had the idea for dessert spring rolls cookin’ for a few weeks now…  First Hannah mashed a ripe banana with some cinnamon.

I plopped a blob of it in the middle of one wet rice paper with some peanut butter and shredded coconut.

Roll it on up!

Then, we put them in the frying pan with a little oil.

This turned out to be a pretty stressful situation for a moment there.  It seemed like they were coming apart, sticking, and just generally headed straight for failure.

But Hannah was a champion master fryer and they came out great!

Not the prettiest, but they were ooey and gooey and delicious!

Earlier this afternoon, after a quick  walk to the library, I did a little bit of yoga to get the good-mood juices flowing.  I did one sun salutation in both the A and B forms, followed by the entire standing sequence of Ashtanga Primary Series.  I didn’t move very fast or hold poses for very long, but I wanted to make sure I did a little bit of activity today.

Hannah shared with me a Lindt chocolate hazelnut “carrot” that from the package sent by Mrs. P!

Thank you! ❤  I really can’t go a day without chocolate.

How much physical activity do you do when your feeling icky?

Namaste.

7 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, Yoga

7 responses to “What I Eat on Sick Days ;)

  1. Wow – good for you!! sometimes my ashtanga for the day is sun salutes A&B and then just the standing series. I probably wouldn’t do it if I wasn’t feeling well. The only exercise I do when sick is walk…..to the kitchen to get a snack….
    I’m a bad ashtangi!

  2. Dani

    Should anyone really go a day without chocolate? :p
    I love this posting. You are wonderful and I miss you TONS.
    You have gotten me addicted to LoveLoveLove…I hope you are happy 🙂

    Also…did I mention I ❤ you? Because I do.
    I hope you feel better soon!!!

  3. That lentil frittata looks delicious. I’ve done it with black beans 😉

  4. Pingback: Knee Pain + Slices of Heaven | Namaste Everyday

  5. Pingback: How to Use Rice Paper |

Leave a Reply

