Winter is almost here…

You heard me!  It’s the start of May and apparently we are seeing the first signs of winter here in Auckland, New Zealand…

Rain and wind and clouds.  The wind is so loud that it sounds like thunder when it pounds against the buildings!  This is not helping my post-vacation slump.

Also not helping my slump is my skin issue.  Since it had appeared to be on the mend, I thought that maybe by the time I got back from my trip it would be even better.

But alas, it looks about the same.  (See how sunny and warm it was last time I took the pictures!?)  Of course, this could have been due to the craziness of the trip, but I kept up with my regimen, so I don’t see why there is no improvement.  Perhaps it has plateaued?  Have my current meds done all they are capable of doing?

The good news is that the pain I was experiencing before I started to use the medicine has completely gone, which was my main concern.  I’m still worried about it because I have been noticing some other aspects of my health aren’t quite right.  I know when my body is at its healthiest, and I feel like it just isn’t there lately. My body is in some sort of slump.

My goal is to keep track of my symptoms and how I am feeling so that I am prepared with evidence when I can finally visit my doctors once I’m back in the US.  (If my symptoms get so bad that they start to interfere with my life, I will see a doc immediately.  I’m all for safety!)  I will also stick with my healthy living routine that I always follow: plenty of sleep, exercise, and healthy foods.

Speaking of the USA…

On being American:  When I moved to New Zealand, though I am very proud of where I come from, I didn’t want to be labeled with the “American” stereotype that we often fear from foreigners.  I am not selfish and greedy.  I am not fat and lazy.  I am not rude or obnoxious.  I’m not stupid or shallow.  Every time I tell people that I am from the States, I have to swallow the urge to say, “but I’m cool, I swear!”  But today, I have no shame in admitting that I am American.

Honoring the WWII Memorial with our sexy legs, Summer '10

The news of Osama bin Laden’s death bring me so much pride for my country.  It’s a huge symbol for what America believes in and how, as Obama said in his speech, “we can do anything we put our minds to.” This debacle has been going on for 10 years without much to show for it, but finally we are reminded we we got into the mess in the first place.  For justice.

But now it’s just making me really homesick!  I love America and I miss the spirit; I wish I was there to witness this bit of history firsthand, and join in on all the celebrations!

Being proud Americans, Memorial Day '10

But I’ll be home just a week before the 4th of July.  Plenty of time to celebrate then.

Today is my day of Ashtanga, Full Primary Series.  I was a bit apprehensive for class, since I haven’t practiced in over two weeks :/  I was nervous that I would feel out of shape, but I was also yearning for a good stretch.

And for the first time in my life, yoga did not make me feel better.  I could NOT focus.  My mind was wandering all over the place.  My balance was off.  The toast I had as a snack (2 hours prior, I might add!) felt like it was in my throat.  My lower back was hurting(!)  My vinyasas were sluggish.  I couldn’t wait for closing sequence.  I hardly even remember breathing.  Forget about drishti (gaze)!  I was feeling so wack that I couldn’t even keep my eyes closed during svasana.  WHO DOES THAT?!?!?!

Even my teacher noticed, who always comments on my endless energy, that I seemed tired.  She also informed me not to worry, that it’s just because the full moon is tomorrow.  Right.  (Don’t get me wrong – I actually believe in that crap now lol!)

I’m just keeping in mind that practice is NOT perfect, and tomorrow is a new day.

Until then, pictures from my trip always cheer me up!

Marlborough Wine Region

What helps you climb out of a slump?

Namaste.

11 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Life, New Zealand

11 responses to “Winter is almost here…

  1. ACKK! isn’t that the worst? you come back to yoga after a little break and have an ‘off’ practice. It’s so frustrating. Remember though, class, yoga, stuff on your mat is just ‘practice’ – and how you handle it on your mat is how you handle the same ‘off-ness’ in life. You kept with it and soldiered through – and your next class will likely be a lot better. Full led Primary is awesome – try and do it again this week — after the moon day and I bet you’ll feel a lot more grounded and start to get out of your slump.

    I love that I’ve found another person who practices Ashtanga and loves food! xo

  2. Dominique

    great choice of pics!!

  3. Beth culp

    Emma. The good news is that the slumps always end and your skin will get better. Sorry you got the zit gene from the jenkins side of the family. I am finishing all of my projects and Friday marks the last day of school. Can’t believe my freshman year is already over. OMG! Will comes home on may 7, Jon arrives on the 9, and we head to Syracuse for Anne’s graduation on may 14! We miss you. Hang in there. Love aunt beth

  4. Great blog! One of the things I try to remember when I am in a slump or very upset about something is that I have a 3 day attention span. That means that I usually won’t even remember what really bothers me today in 3 days from now. Somehow, that makes me feel a lot better.

  5. Pingback: May Foliage | Namaste Everyday

  6. Pingback: Yoga Solutions! | Namaste Everyday

  7. Pingback: Skin Issue: Doctor Knows Best |

Leave a Reply

