Homemade Hint-of-Lime Pita Chips

I am proud to say that I finished another paper today! This one is for my internship, to be sent to UVM. I interviewed a few of my students some math questions and how they solved them, then wrote an assessment about math strategies! Fun stuff!

For lunch, I had this wonderful beauty:



A HUGE salad. It started off with salad greens and chopped tomato. Then, I sauteed chopped zucchini and carrots, then threw in some cooked brown rice and an egg at the end. Oh yeah, and two big spoonfuls of hummus and salsa.

It was super filling and satisfying, but it left me wanting more hummus…with crackers. But we ain’t got no crackers! But we have pita bread…and an “oven”….so I decided to make some Pita Chips!



I ripped up bits of pita for nice bite-sized chips. I VERY LIGHTLY dipped them in olive oil, then gave them a dash of salt and, on a whim, a few squeezes of lime juice. I baked them at 230*C for ten minutes.



Uneven, just like the zucchini chips! I blame my microwave/oven…



Doesn’t it just look deceitful! Luckily, I like stuff a little burnt and a lot crunchy.



Homemade Hint-of-Lime Pita Chips! The lime definitely took it up a notch. Craving satisfied! YUM!

The rest of my day was spent in class. First in Maori Culture and Society, we learned about views of land and kinship ties. The Maori believe that they belong to the Earth, not that the Earth belongs to them, so they are huge conservationists and honor their landscape. We could learn a thing or two from these environmentalists. In Leadership, we talked about “doing first things first” and talking about our achievements. All very useful information, but it comes so naturally to me. It doesn’t excite me or anything. I need to write a little paper on that, now. Sigh and I don’t want to.

I’ve been struggling with some stress the past few days. Everything is seeming pretty overwhelming: my internship, homework, all the prep for my upcoming 2 weeks of travel. I am trying to remind myself my mantra (stolen from Life is Good) “do what you love, love what you do” but it’s especially hard being away from home! I’m homesick for my support system I’m surrounded by back in VT/PA. I am lucky to have a major component of that support system with me (Hannah <3) but unfortunately, right now, it's like the blind leading the blind!

We both agreed we needed some magic Harry Potter chocolate, so we went across the street for a bar of Cadbury.

It’s working 🙂

How do you deal with stress?

Namaste.


3 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, School

3 responses to “Homemade Hint-of-Lime Pita Chips

  1. love the idea for those hint of lime chips 🙂 and hummus and salsa make the best dressing!

  2. Pingback: Aliens at Morning Meeting | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

