a pile of spinach for dinner?

a pile of spinach for dinner?  That can’t be…

There’s something hiding underneath!  Fatigued from our weekend of traveling, Hannah and I decided to grab this pretty baby while grocery shopping last night.

A 12-inch “spicy vegetarian” frozen pizza pie for just under nz$8 sounded like a deliciously easy dinner. (And a bargain compared that to the pizza place downstairs – more than nz$15 for a pie!)  Also, I recognized everything on the ingredients list, so I deemed it nearly wholesome.  Of course, it was super tasty!  It really was spicy and the crust was perfectly crunchy – I guess our microwave/oven is working well!

My trick for healthifying pizza is to put a heaping handful of leafy greens on top of each slice.  It’s a great way to pack on some extra nutrients, plus I always pretend that it fills me up faster that way.  I am proud to say that I stopped after two slices!  (Especially because I could save the leftovers for lunch!)

Today was actually a pretty stressful day, I’ll admit.  Remember when I talked about my literacy paper being too long?  Well, I had Literacy class today from 8am-11am, and after sharing my concerns with my professor, she agreed that, yes, it was way too long. She was also very unhelpful with how I should shorten it.  All she did was reminded me that the assignment was to research write an 1800-word discussion on the quote:

“Reading is not a natural activity, but a set of gradually acquired component skills initially learned independently, but later integrated and automated.”

Of course, me being my over-achiever self, I researched more than was required and added a whole other component to my discussion that was not necessary.  I was particularly distressed because I was really proud of and excited about my discussion and I did not want to condense it!  I discussed how understanding the processes of literacy acquisition helps provide more individual support for struggling readers.  Absolutely something I will think about as a teacher of literacy.  Absolutely something I did not want to erase from my paper.

After a pep talk from none other than my Mommy and Daddy…

"You can do ittttt!"

I got to work.  And I am pretty proud of the finished product!

I managed to get it down to 1,819 words without completely trashing my (VERY RELEVANT AND VALID) discussion about struggling readers!

I celebrated finishing my paper in the best way possible: yoga and dinner at my favorite studio in Auckland: The Loft Yoga Lounge!

This is not your ordinary yoga studio.  All classes are from 6:00-7:15pm and are followed by a delicious vegan dinner and dessert!  And all for just nz$14!!!! (Well, for students.  Normal people have to pay nz$17.  But not bad either!).  After my first Intro to Ashtanga class (there), I was lucky enough to be asked to attend the advanced Primary Series class.  Don’t mind if I do!  I have been going every week and wishing I could go every night.  I have really been missing my proper full Ashtanga practice, but I am grateful to be able to do it once a week.  Plus, dinner there is the best meal I have all week!  Tonight, we had BBQ Eggplant burgers, split pea soup, and potato salad.  With carob cake for dessert.  yum-crazy-yum.

Have you ever felt like you worked really hard…for no reason?

Namaste.

11 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, School

11 responses to “a pile of spinach for dinner?

  1. Laura

    Yum! What brand of pizza was that, if you don’t mind my asking?

    • crap, I can’t remember (in fact I was cursing myself for not snapping a photo of the box!) but I think it had something to do with “Mama’s” I got it at Countdown in the frozen pizza section, apparently it’s a Countdown exclusive, lol. but it’s worth getting if you can find it!

  2. I LOVE putting spinach atop pizza– it makes it so much better 🙂

  3. Pingback: Auckland Inner City Dash | Namaste Everyday

  4. Miranda

    Prepping a case for trial, being ready to go, and settling the matter before the trial starts. NOTHING is more frustrating – although I am always pleased to have a good outcome for the client after I finish rampaging around the office throwing a tantrum, haha

  5. Pingback: Green Food | Namaste Everyday

  6. Pingback: Knee Pain + Slices of Heaven | Namaste Everyday

  7. Pingback: Vampire Toast! (and Yogic Chanting) | Namaste Everyday

  8. Pingback: Energy, Energy, ENERGY! | Namaste Everyday

  9. Pingback: Over Eating: How I Cope |

  10. Pingback: A Weird Sandwich & A Personal Problem |

Leave a Reply

