Where is the Love?

Trivia was sort of a fail last night.  The regular quiz master was absent so we had a substitute.  A substitute who cannot enunciate!  I had a super hard time hearing the question, i.e., I could not understand a single question mumbled in his Kiwi accent unless one of my teammates repeated it to me. We still had fun, of course!

I was crazy hyper.  Here is the celebrity photo sheet.  Recognize anyone?

I realize you can probably just read our guesses underneath lol.  But can you guess the link between all of these celebrities?

Here are some highlight questions:

  • What nut is used to make pesto?
  • What musical has “Pink Ladies” and “T-Birds”?
  • In which US city was the Declaration of Independence signed?
  • Who won the Oscar for Best Actress this year?

I would have more questions if I could have heard the answers when we went over them!  Also, we tied for fourth place.  Out of how many teams?  I don’t know.  And I don’t care.

What I do know is that Hannah and I rocked at karaoke!  We sang “Where is the Love” by The Black Eyed Peas.  (Watch our rehearsal video here!)  Hannah nailed the rapping and I sang pretty well too, if I do say so myself!  There wasn’t a big crowd, but we were enjoying ourselves, so that’s all that matters, am I right?

When we got home, I couldn’t sleep.  I have a lot on my mind lately (FeelGood elections, school work, student teaching, class registration, travel plans, and my skin to name a few) and in my PMSing state last night, it all seemed so much worse once I got into bed.  I just couldn’t calm my mind.  Plus, I was so cold!  I was wearing sweatpants and a thermal long-sleeve shirt, but I had to close my window and put on socks and a sweatshirt, too!  I didn’t sleep much at all.  It was a rough night.

In the morning, the last thing I wanted to do was go for a run, but I figured a nice brisk walk would help clear my head and give me some energy.  But it’s what I was listening to that really made me feel better:  Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (book on CD).

Harry Potter was a highly unusual boy in many ways.  For one thing, he hated the summer holidays more than any other time of year. For another, he really wanted to do his homework, but was forced to do it in secret, in the dead of night.  And he also happened to be a wizard.

Goosebumps.

I did a few laps around Albert Park while listening to the first chapter.  The bright green grass against the bright blue sky here always reminds me of Mario.

But the trees are purely Lord of the Rings.

My walk helped bring me back down to Earth.  I also stopped to do a few sun salutations in the grass.  I was already feeling peaceful.

More peaceful and focused, but still fuzzy from my sleepless night, so I made myself a cup of coffee.  I come from a family of very serious coffee drinkers, so I was first appalled when I learned that most people in New Zealand drink instant coffee.  Yuck!  But too many dollars spent a Starbucks later, I decided to get some.  For just nz$8, apparently it makes more than 55 cups!

Plus, all you have to do is heat up the kettle, just like tea!

I have to admit, with a good splash of Oat Milk, it makes a really nice cup of coffee.

I’m off to research Maori world views and classroom management techniques before class.

Know any of the trivia answers?

Namaste.

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Life, New Zealand, School, Yoga

2 responses to “Where is the Love?

  1. Dani

    I knew ALL of the answers and felt so proud!!! haha
    and you and Hannah ROCKED it in your rehearsal…so I can only imagine how great the actual performance went! ❤

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of Kitchen-Ware | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

