Dreaming of Kitchen-Ware

Here are the answers to the trivia questions from last post:

  • The celebrities pictured all had roles in Scream movies.
  • Pinenuts are used to make pesto.
  • Grease is the musical with “Pink Ladies” and “T-Birds”.
  • The Declaration of Independence was signed in Philadelphia!
  • Natalie Portman won Best Actress at the Oscar’s this year.

If you guessed them all right, then you are as smart as I am!  (Actually you are smarter because I did not make the Scream connection.)

I had a fantastic lunch today!  Leftover Energizing Salad with two falafel balls, spinach, and carrot sticks.  I picked up a trick from the blog Une Vie Saine and nuked my carrots in the microwave for a minute.  They got deliciously soft, warm, and sweet!

This lunch was SO filling and satisfying, which is good because I had a long afternoon of class ahead of me.

Class wasn’t too bad today.  After learning about Maori language during Maori Culture & Society, I had a one-hour break before learning about “planning with the end in mind” in my leadership class. It was a really interesting topic, and I’d like to share my thoughts on it after I write the accompanying assignment 🙂

After class on Wednesdays, I barely put my backpack down before starting on dinner.  Tonight was no different!

I sliced some sweet potatoes kumara and sauteed them with onion and shrimp, flavoring it all with curry powder.  I ate it with quinoa and some shredded coconut on top.  It was super tasty, but my crummy pan heats up too fast, so the potatoes and onions were crunchier than I would have liked.

*sighs, looks into distance, dreams of future sophisticated kitchen-ware*

All I want to do is hit the sack since I barely slept last night.  But I need to prep for student teaching tomorrow and try and stay awake until 11pm (7am EST) to register for classes next semester.    Course registration is always super stressful for me because I have such a rigid schedule.  In order to graduate in four years with my certification in both elementary and special education, with this semester abroad, I need to get into each class exactly where I have plotted them for the next two years.  There is no room for flexibility.  Anxiety and exhaustion are running high, but I’m trying to remain calm yet alert.

What’s your dream piece of kitchen ware?

Namaste.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, School, Student Teaching

6 responses to “Dreaming of Kitchen-Ware

  1. Dominique

    course selection is SO stressful! i hope you get the courses you need!

  2. Have you tried your carrots roasted? So good.

  3. Gay McPhee

    Favorite all-time appliance is my Kitchenaid mixer. It’s amazing! I’ve had it since 1985 and use it all the time!

  4. We used to call that “backwards mapping” about 10 years ago. But, that’s kind of “out” now in the States. Now it’s more about the work of “strategic design” and Dr. Robert Marzano.

Leave a Reply

