ARE YOU EXCITED?!?!

I have a ton of exciting news today!

1.  I got a new cousin this morning (baby makes 12!)

Isn’t she gorgeous?! Baby Reese is happy and healthy.  I can’t wait to meet her on the 4th of July once I’m back in the USA. That’ll be her 3-month birthday!

2.  I finished my first draft of my literacy paper!

It’s eight whole pages long…that’s at least two too many.

Revisions should be fun tomorrow morning!  It’s very content-rich, I can assure you that much!

3. I finished writing it at 11:15am – just in time for a 12:05 Ashtanga class!

I realize that I have been pretty secretive about the yoga studios I’ve been going to.  It’s because I wanted to dedicate a whole post about them, but I’m decided to screw that idear

One of the studios that I tried out was the Auckland Yoga Academy.  I was drawn to this studio because it offered the most Ashtanga classes than any other studio I could find in Auckland Central.  When I saw that the first class was just $10, I was convinced!

After trying out a class, I ended up buying a card for $110 (the student discounted price from $130) that is good for 10 one-hour classes.  This is sort of a problem because all of the one-hour classes are Beginner level.  Not to toot my own horn, but I’m obviously not an Ashtanga beginner.  The only higher-level Ashtanga classes they offer are Mysore classes, which would cost me $130 for ten, and they are only at 6am or 4pm.  I decided it would be fine for me to stick with the beginner classes because it will give me an opportunity to focus more attention on alignment and flexibility.  Plus, if I ever feel like I really need to attend a Mysore class, I can “top-up” for just $2.

4.  I may have had a breakthrough on my skin issue!

After two weeks on Finacea and no improvement, I started Acanya yesterday.  Today while I was putting it on, I noticed a little bottle in the box.  How curious. After reading the small print, I learned that the small bottle had to be poured and mixed into the jar before using.

DOH! I started to use Acanya during the winter when things started to look pretty bad, but I hadn’t noticed that I needed to prepare it first!  I do remember thinking that it looked different than the sample I was using over the summer, but clearly I forgot about it lol.  But now that I have the proper formula, lets see if it works!

Also, I broke down and bought my favorite face wash today: Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash. But guess how much it was?…..

nz$14.70 for 175ml 😥   I have been using a “comparable” Clean and Clear wash because it is significantly cheaper, but there is probably a reason why I used Nuetrogena’s for so long.  It felt so good and it felt right when I washed my face with it this afternoon.  (The smell reminded me nostalgically of UVM bathrooms…ok yep that’s really weird) 😛

5.  I made something delicious for dinner!

I adapted this from the Energizing Protein Power Salad on my favorite blog, Oh She Glows

The leftover lentils were feeling neglected.  The rest of the big chard was ready for its last shebang.

Yo, sesame seeds Chopped almonds!  Front and center!

I also sauteed some random veggies we had:  2 large cloves of garlic, 2 very small onions, a half red pepper, and one carrot.

They all got pretty close and personal.

Just the way I like it!!!  In came the quinoa and then things really got crazy.  They got all mixed up!

I also added the juice of one lime, salt, and some cayenne pepper to taste.

And things were complete.

Yum!

6.  DESSERT! (The most exciting news, of course).

1/2 sliced banana, 1 handful of chocolate buttons, 1 big spoonful of chunky peanut butter, sprinkled with cinnamon, and warmed up in the microwave for 40 seconds.

Heaven.

Do you have any exciting news today?

Namaste.

11 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Life, New Zealand, Recipes, School, Yoga

11 responses to “ARE YOU EXCITED?!?!

  1. Laura

    Just found your blog today through Carrots ‘n Cake. 🙂 It’s really interesting reading about your studies (and yoga!), and kind of fascinating seeing my own country through foreign eyes, so to speak! I’m so used to reading US blogs with all of the products that I have no access to, so this makes a nice change, ha. (I’m a post-grad student at Otago).

  2. Dominique

    congrats on baby reese! i hope i can meet her some day! shelooks adorable.

  3. Marisa

    Congrats on the new cousin!
    I got all the classes I wanted too, that’s my exciting news! I have a very full schedule…2 special ed classes, ENGS/Diversity class, ASL 001, and a communication science class = 18 credits! But I have nothing on Monday/Friday and almost all Wednesday, so I can spend time with FeelGood and at my job, yay!
    Have a fantastic weekend!!

  4. Pingback: a pile of spinach for dinner? | Namaste Everyday

  5. Pingback: PB&J French Pita! | Namaste Everyday

  6. Pingback: Yoga Solutions! | Namaste Everyday

  7. Pingback: Hungry Hungry Yogi | Namaste Everyday

  8. Pingback: Third-Wheeling is Fun! | Namaste Everyday

  9. Pingback: How to Make Spaghetti Healthier |

  10. Pingback: Bronze Trivia Medalist & International Potluck Kai |

Leave a Reply

