CinnaBon Craving Conquered!

I am one of those people who wakes up singing “Good Morning, Baltimore Auckland!” most mornings.  Even when I wake up before sunrise!  I love getting an early start because I know that I have a very full day of my lovely life ahead of me.  And since I had student teaching today, a full day it most certainly was 🙂 (I’ll update you on the school shenanigans later)

Breakfast was a delicious cinch at 7:15am with Coconut and Mixed Berries Overnight Oats (made with oat milk and lots of cinnamon!)

I also (efficiently) grabbed an Americano with a splash of soymilk from Starbucks on the way to the bus!  I was not late at all this week!  😉 (Read that funny story here).

As a snack during morning tea, in which I had a mug of french press: REAL COFFEE!!!, I brought along a homemade snack bar:

Lunch was a big old salad made with lettuce-wrap leftovers (plus almonds, chickpeas, and watercress!)

and an apple with crunchy peanut butter 🙂

On the way home from school, I had a very intense craving for a hot, gooey cinnamon roll (specifically: CinnaBon) that I almost stopped into Starbucks their sad excuse for a cinnamon bun that they have available.  After the thoughts: 1) I don’t need it, 2) it won’t be vegan, and 3) I already gave Starbucks nz$4 today, I decided against it.  Upon entering the lobby of my apartment, I was blasted with an aroma of baking cinnamon.  No kidding.  Someone was baking something wonderful in the communal kitchen.  Thus, I sprinted into my own kitchen, toasted a piece of wholegrain bread, slathered it with Hannah’s honey (sorry, hon!) and doused it with cinnamon.  It was tasted amazing and satisfied my craving, yet I didn’t feel guilty about its sweetness or restricted by its simplicity!  It was simply scrum-diddly-umptious!

After the thoughts of CinnaBon cleared and I could see clearly, I decided I wanted sweet potatoes kumara for dinner, so Hannah and I made roasted veggies with pasta.

Roasted kumara, zucchini, and onion dressed with s&p, Italian herb paste, garlic, and EVOO.

Hannah and I have been dying to try this cookie place downtown for SO LONG (it always smells like heaven when we walk past) so we decided we wanted to venture there after dinner.  Fail.  It was closed.  But we aren’t quitters!  Especially when it comes to hunting for dessert.

We ended up at Elliott Stables Epicurian Village again.  At the Mexican restaurant, Besos Latinos, we shared Chilean chocolate walnut cake with vanilla bean ice cream.

We joked about how the “carob tasted so much like real chocolate” and the “soy ice-cream was just as creamy as the real thing.”

Some vegan I am, eh?

What have you been craving lately?

Namaste.

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, New Zealand

6 responses to “CinnaBon Craving Conquered!

  1. craving lately?? Hot herbal tea…so I am drinking it now 🙂

  2. I’m such a cinnamon fan. I usually put it in my smoothies, although it’s great in .. just about anything, including a meat dish (but you don’t want to know about that..).

    Cravings? Yesterday I had a mad, chocolate craving. Assignment writing just does that to me sometimes. My standard fix is a nuked banana (really the only time I use the microwave .. desperate times and all) with a few squares of 85% chocolate (the banana melts them), slap an enormous blob of almond butter on it and maybe some dried strawberries or apricots. Stir, devour. I honestly like it better than a chocolate croissant.

  3. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo + Sick Day | Namaste Everyday

  4. Pingback: A Perfect Saturday Morning |

Leave a Reply

