A Free Americano for this American…o

Today was my first REAL day of school!  I can’t wait to tell you all about it, but that’s for my next post 🙂  Are you waiting with bated breath?!

So last night in preparation for the big day, I decided to make Overnight Oats so that breakfast would be a breeze!  Overnight Oats is something that I learned from one of my favorite blogs, Oh She Glows.  The basic concept is to prepare a bowl of oatmeal at night, store it in the fridge, and in the morning the oats will have “cooked” by soaking up all the milk!  Instant Oatmeal the Old Fashioned way 😉

For 2 servings, combine 1/2 cup of oats with 1 cup of milk.

Then chop up a ‘nana

And add it to the bowl with a generous pinch of shredded coconut.

I shall call it Tropical Coco’nana Overnight Oats.  I thought it looked like too much coconut…

But who am I kidding? It was fabulous.  The Overnight Oats are meant to be eaten cold, but I just nuked mine in the microwave for a minute and a half, and it’s just like freshly cooked oatmeal in a tenth of the time!

I also sprinkled some cinnamon on top, well duh.

Also last night I packed my lunch because that’s what you do to eat healthy but stay fueled at work.  Homemade Oat Bar for a morning snack (which was enjoyed during Morning Tea, God I love New Zealand)

It did melt a bit, but it still held up.  Just a bit goooooooey, but I can’t complain about that!

I also made my classic hummus sandwich…without cheese 😦  I compensated with extra everything: hummus, tomatoes, and greens, but you could never replace a good friend like Cheddar Cheese.  The carrots and green beans helped cheer me up!  Those sweeties 🙂

The whole wheat pita seems to crumble apart at the slightest touch, and with the added wetness from the hummus and tomatoes, it got quite mushy!  I couldn’t hold it like a normal sandwich, it just fell apart, but it still tasted yummy!  Just had to use some utensils like a civilized person would.  tsk.

I also packed an apple with peanut butter.  I created a little pouch for the peanut butter out of foil because I don’t buy plastic baggies.  It works just as well!

I also have a Funny New Zealand Starbucks Story

I was meant to meet my fellow interns at 7:50am to travel to the bus stop together so that we would be at school by 8:30am.  So at 7:35, I bopped on over to Starbucks, just around the corner, to get a Short Coffee with a Splash of Soymilk before meeting the girls.  I thought this would be plenty of time.

“Ha!” the Universe laughed.

After ordering, I was confused because instead of just turning around to fill my cup, the lady put it in line with all the espresso bar drinks.  But I just went with the flow because that’s what you’re supposed to do in New Zealand.  I’m waiting and waiting and waiting and my drink has barely moved up in line.

It’s now 7:45 and in my head I’m screaming “HOW FREAKING LONG DOES IT TAKE TO POUR COFFEE FROM THE POT INTO MY CUP THEN ADD SOME SOYMILK THEN SEND ME ON MY WAY?!?!?!” but of course on the outside I just curiously watched to employees.

Finally at 7:52, after sending a frantic “im at starbucks dont wait for me!” text, I asked “how much longer will it be for my brewed coffee?” in my best I-swear-I’m-not-another-rude-impatient-selfish-American-voice I’ve come to master.

The lady sweetly explained to me that it would be probably another minute because the coffee was still brewing since they only brew it when its ordered.  At Starbucks, you are not allowed to serve coffee that is more than an hour old, and here in New Zealand, people never order brewed coffee, so they would be wasting a lotta Joe if they made a fresh pot every hour.  Without waiting for me to respond, the woman offered to make me an Americano straight away, free of charge.

Of course I said, “yes please! So sorry, but I really can’t wait!”

She beamed at me like it would be the highlight of her day to make me an Americano straight away, free of charge, as most Kiwis do when they help someone out.  I thanked her, apologized again, and promised that I would know for next time.

And she said, “see you then!”

These people give Vermonters a run for their money.

Namaste.

7 Comments

Filed under Food, New Zealand, Recipes, School, Student Teaching

7 responses to “A Free Americano for this American…o

  1. LOVE the overnight oats recipe. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My First REAL Day of School: PUPPIES! | Namaste Everyday

  3. Pingback: CinnaBon Craving Conquered! | Namaste Everyday

  4. Pingback: Textbook Fiasco (+ Random Recent Eats) | Namaste Everyday

  5. Pingback: Where is the Love? | Namaste Everyday

  6. Pingback: Teacher Fuel | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

