First Day of School: Preparation!

Today is a VERY big day for me: I start my student teaching!  I have been placed at Dominion Road School with a class of 3/4 years.  In New Zealand, Year 1 is technically Kindergarten, so I am with 2nd and 3rd graders.  I have only corresponded with the school’s principal via email, so today is my first time going to the school and meeting everyone.  I can’t wait to see what it’s like!

But I’m also nervous, I could hardly fall asleep last night!  That’s why I got a tall nonfat latte.

I usually get a short.  (Except I just realized that they are both just one shot of espresso…doh!)  Thank God the closest Starbucks is only 50 meters away from my apartment!

One of the most important parts of preparing for the first day of student teaching is to figure out what to wear!  Every school seems to have a different dress code for teachers, and you never really know what it is until you get there.  Some school are pretty strict: most teachers dress really formally and modestly.  But here in New Zealand, things seem to be a little more casual!

My rule of thumb is to be sure to dress modestly and somewhat professional.  But also, I want to appear fun to the kids, and I HAVE to be comfortable.  So today, this is what I’m wearing:

Embellished green T-shirt (it had to be green–it’s St. Patrick’s Day, after all!) from Marshals (only us$12!) and a black pencil skirt from Target.  Hopefully my T-shirt is a little more fun than a stiff blouse, but the pencil skirt makes it a bit more professional.  Also I’m wearing my comfy, sparkly-sequiny sandals from Target.

Golly, I hope I fit in!  Lol.

Another important part of preparation is fueling up!

Peanut Butter and Banana Oatmeal for me!

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup “super trim” milk
  • handful of almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 banana, chopped
  • Cinnamon ❤
  • a spoonful of peanut butter on top!

YUM!  The peanut butter gets all melty and mixes in well.  Plus, it’s really filling.  I never know when the teachers get a chance to eat!  And kids are tiring, I have to be able to give them everything I’ve got 🙂  and, hey, I’ve got a lot!

I’m spending the rest of the morning obsessing over the bus route I need to take:

And reading and rereading my assignments and expectations for the internship:

I’m just trying to remain calm and remember that, on the first day, the only thing I can control is responding to things in a way that it true to myself.  Not always as easy as it sounds though!  See kids, teachers get nervous on the first day, too!

In other news….

Namaste Everyday was featured on The Juicery’s Facebook Page because of my review the other day!

Pretty cool, eh?  If you are in Auckland, New Zealand you MUST go to The Juicery!

Also, Tuesday night was Quiz and Karaoke night at Father Ted’s Irish Pub!  Here the team is studying the celebrity photos hard.  “Who is that?!”  Some faces are so hard to recognize.

Deep in thought:  Which South American country is named after an Italian City?  Venezuela!  Yeah, we got it wrong, lol

I’m really good at making up answers, lol.  I call it good guessing skills!

Who starred in Nurse Jackie and The Sopranos?  I was mad because I mixed up Edie Falco with Edie Sedgewick.  How could I?!  As if my family taught me nothing….

Quiz night was REALLY hard this week.  We came in second to last.  Embarrassing!  Shameful!  We were ready for karaoke to start so we could regain some dignity 😉

But then there were technical difficulties!  We had to wait about a half hour for it to get back up and running.  Hannah and I sang “Man, I Feel Like a Woman” by Shania Twain, but the music wasn’t loud enough!

So it was sort of a fail.  But let’s see if Father Ted’s can redeem itself for the St. Patrick’s Day celebrations!

Ok, time to go to school!  Wish me luck!

Namaste.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, New Zealand, Recipes, Student Teaching

3 responses to “First Day of School: Preparation!

  1. Pingback: Kick-Butt 20-Minute Yoga | Namaste Everyday

  2. Pingback: Quinoa Stir-Fry & The Ekko Park Show |

  3. Pingback: Bronze Trivia Medalist & International Potluck Kai |

Leave a Reply

