Run to Cure Homesickness

The past few days, I have been feeling my first few pangs of homesickness.  No offense, Mom and Dad, but I’m mostly feeling homesick for UVM 😦  I don’t get homesick very easily because I am anything but a homebody, and I’m very independent.  But I’ve been yearning to be back home for some reason.

Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been in agony or anything, just pining for my life at UVM.  So today, I decided to ditch my usual running playlist (comprised of trashy pop songs that I named “Sexy Beast Mix”) and make a new one that reminds me of home.

Each song makes me think of a particular loved one that I’ve been missing.  As each song played during my run, I dedicated every step to them and reminisced about all the happy times we’ve spent together.

“The Dog Days are Over” by Florence and the Machine

Dedicated to Becca

“All These Things That I’ve Done” by The Killers

Dedicated to Dominique

“Firework” by Katy Perry

Dedicated to Dani

“Shipping Up to Boston” by The Dropkick Murphys

Dedicated to Mom

“Baby” by Justin Bieber

Dedicated to my sister, Sam

“Daylight” by Matt & Kim

Dedicated to Tara

“Home” by Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros

Dedicated to my Feel Good Friends (and that means ALL of you, not just those pictured! Just such a great pic <3)

“Get to Me” by Train


Dedicated to Dad

“Falling for the First Time” by The Barenaked Ladies

Dedicated to my brother, David

“Brown-Eyed Girl” by Van Morrison

Dedicated to Melissa

My run was full of smiles!  It was amazingly motivating to run for all of my loved ones.  When I felt tired, I’d say to myself “You can do it!  Do it for _____! Remember that one time….”

Before yoga, I usually dedicate my practice to something/someone, which helps me focus and perform better since I am doing everything with purpose and meaning.    The same thing apparently works for my runs!  I felt great afterwords, and (maybe) just a little bit closer to home 🙂

I love you all!  I miss you all!  And I’m thinking about ya ❤

Namaste.

10 Comments

Filed under Fitness, New Zealand

10 responses to “Run to Cure Homesickness

  1. Aw, virtual hug to you. Such a sweet post!

    I know what you mean about homesickness, but mine isn’t for the place at all, but solely for my family. I hate “home” in Washington, D.C. and wouldn’t care if I never returned at all, but I miss my parents like crazy.

  2. becca

    You’re the best! Lovin’ and missin’ you nonstop

  3. Dominique

    this post made me tear up a little (which is awkward in my research methods class, lol)
    i love you!

  4. Pingback: St. Paddy’s Day & The Morning After | Namaste Everyday

  5. Dominique

    you should have gone for the ridiculous one! i’m sure it would have summed up our relationship a little better lol. which one was it?
    also sidenote im wearing the exact same outfit right now as i am in the picture above.

  6. Pingback: Kick-Butt 20-Minute Yoga | Namaste Everyday

Leave a Reply

