5K for Christchurch

I was in New Zealand the day the earthquake struck.  I spent hour after hour watching news reports that shook me to the core.  As the reports brought tears to my eyes, I felt such an urge to act.  Do something.  Help them!  I am a capable, able body, and I feel so compelled to help relieve some of the devastation.  What are the odds that I am here in New Zealand when something so awful occurs?  I am so in love with New Zealand already, and so grateful for all of the gifts this place has given me, and it is only fitting that I give back.  There is a strong Maori tradition that when someone gives you a gift, you must give them a gift of greater value in return.  What is a better gift back to New Zealand than to do whatever I can to help the people of Christchurch?

I am a capable, able body, so what can I do?

This weekend, there has been something exciting going on all around the world!  There was a virtual 5K to fundraise for the relief effort in Christchurch, New Zealand.

Anytime, anywhere, on March 12th & 13th, people were asked to donate money to the New Zealand Red Cross as a “registration fee” and run to show their support.

I donated just $5 (one dollar per kilometer) because I am a poor college kid 😉

But it still felt amazing to do what I can to help. Mostly just to show my support!  We were asked to wear red and black (the colors of the Canterbury rugby team) to further indicate why we were running.

And run I did!  I ran through the 2 most beautiful parks I’ve discovered in Auckland so far:  Auckland Domain and Albert Park.  To my delight, there was a free concert going on in BOTH parks!  See?  New Zealand is such an amazing place, constantly giving to its people.  How can you not do what you can to help them get back on their feet?

Back on their feet and running.

Namaste.

3 Comments

Filed under Fitness, New Zealand

3 responses to “5K for Christchurch

  1. Pingback: $1 Dinner (Yeah, that’s right!) | Namaste Everyday

  2. Just discovered your blog (from HangryPants, I think) and came to say hi to someone in NZ 🙂 Stoked to see you participated in Run4Chch, and glad you’re having such a great time in Aucks- love it there!

Leave a Reply

