Vegans like the Superbowl, too!

The best part of the Superbowl? The food, obviously.  But they do tend to be a bit meaty, creamy, cheesy, and, well, fatty.  But you can easily make healthy, even vegan Superbowl munchies, without spending a fortune.  Today, I made two of my favorite football foods:  Chili …and…. Guacamole

Here’s all the good stuff I put in my Chili today….

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • Olive oil
  • 1 small can of mushrooms
  • Old Bay seasoning
  • chili powder
  • 1 package firm tofu
  • 1 large can of chunky crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1/2 can of corn
  • 1/2 can of black beans

I admit, I sort of went crazy.  Maybe I should call this the Kitchen Sink Chili.  I also bought garbanzo beans, but upon making it, I realized it already had too much going on and I needed to calm down!  But, hey, that’s the beauty of chili!  Start with one large can of crushed (or better yet, CHUNKY crushed!) tomatoes as “broth” and then decide what veggies and beans you are in the mood for/whatever is cheapest at the market.  I would just make sure to choose at least one bean and at least two veggies, for optimal nutritional value.

Now here are the magic ingredients that go into my Guacamole…

  • 2 avocados
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • Lime juice
  • Lemon juice
  • Chili powder
  • Cilantro
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 small tomato
  • 1/2 can of black beans
  • 1/2 can of corn

I would say that the lemon juice is optional, but we had some in the fridge, so why not!  The red onion is also optional, and I secretly hate raw onions anyway, so I regret putting them in, lol.  The black beans and corn were also a surprise because I was planning on putting the entire cans into the chili! But then I thought that they would be perfect add-ins to the guac.  And, again, there was enough going on in my chili.

So here’s what I did.  First, I got the Chili going, since you’ll want it to cook for a while on the stove so all the flavor flaves can marry.  Start by prepping the veggies to be sauteed.  For the sake of time, I shredded the carrot instead of chopping it.  Then, I gave the celery and onion a good choppin (I love chunky vegetables).  For the pepper, I sliced it off the core first and THEN rinsed it.  This saves a few seconds since you will rinse off all the sketchy residue and the seeds at the same time.

Pretty colors!  I got them going in the pot with some olive oil.

Then I squashed in the cloves are garlic, using my best friend: the garlic press!  It’s so much easier and faster than trying to mince up those itty bitty cloves.  Plus, I have a theory that it releases the flavors more intensely(?).  Then, I added in the can of mushrooms and the tofu.  I am a big fan of Nasoya, because it’s organic and, oh yeah, soooo tasty. Though I’ll admit it’s not the cheapest option.

But I mainly chose this one since it’s already cubed and “Super Firm” (yeah, baby ;)).  You could always just buy a regular package of firm tofu and chop or crumble it yourself.  But this was a perfect time saver!  You really don’t need the tofu, anyway (the beans provide protein-a-plenty!).  I would tell you that a more affordable option would be to get some kind of ground meat, but we are being vegan-friendly today!!!

While the veggies and tofu are sauteing in the olive oil, don’t forget to add my secret ingredient

For those of you who have never tried Old Bay, I am very, very sorry for the void you may not know exists in your life.  It’s a blend of celery salt, mustard, red pepper, black pepper, bay leaves, cloves, allspice, ginger, mace, cardamom, cinnamon, and paprika–basically anything you could ever want in your chili.  The only seasonings I added to this chili were copious dashes of Old Bay and a few dashes of chili powder.  It’s all you need to do for a very complex and scrumptious array of flavors.

After you have sauteed everything for about 10 minutes, you can add the rest of the ingredients.  In goes 1 can of chunky crushed tomatoes (this is a double-threat since it adds some “tomato broth” and some nice chunks of tomatoes).

Lookin’ good! Then add a can of kidney beans.  Chili wouldn’t be chili without them, after all!

Then add half a can each of corn and black beans (set the rest aside for the guac!)

Bring it to a boil, and then bring down the heat and let it simmer…

As you get the GUACAMOLE going!

It’s my belief that a party isn’t a party without some guac.  My dad thought he could be really cool and get the pit out with one swift twist of a knife….

As if!  Lol, nice try, Dad.  He did get them out for me, though!  I then spooned all the avocado goodness into a bowl and smoothed out the chunks with a whisk.

I like it nice and smooth.  Then I added lemon and lime juices (to taste), plus a dash of olive oil.  I would add salt here, but since we bought some salty chips, I decided we didn’t need it.  I did add the garlic of course!  And some cilantro.

LOTS of cilantro.  Then I chopped up a small tomato and half the red onion…

Why do I do this to myself?  Lol.  I think I was too excited about the black beans and corn to remember my opinion of raw onions.

How could you not be distracted by those beauties?!  Mix it all together, and what have you got?

Pure vegan heaven…

and I think the chili is about done, too!

I like to eat my chili out of a mug. There’s something so comforting about it.

But I mostly just like it in my belly.

GO STEELERS!

Namaste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

