Save a Horse, Ride a Spin Bike!

In the winter, I don’t run as much.  Forced indoors by the wind chill and slippery roads, I struggle to get the motivation needed to tire myself on a stationary machine for 45 minutes.  So as an alternative to the dreaded treadmill running, I turn to spin classes for my cardio: it’s a lot easier to whip your tush into gear (a moderate-to-high one, at that) when someone else is responsible for everything.  All you have to do is show up and do what they say.  Besides, what better way to warm up on a cold winter’s day than a sweaty, calorie-torching spin class?  (Duh, Emma, how about curled up on the couch, swaddled in a snuggie, watching Glee, and guzzling a cup of steaming hot cocoa by the fire?! ….eliminating negative thought here. :))

Music is the best motivation for doing cardio indoors, since it is the one sense you can truly entertain.  Plus, there are so many great songs to spin to!  I was quite thrilled when “Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy” was our warmup song last night.  How fun is that?!  (I hope I was not the only one to make the “saddle” connection lol.)   I just love when instructors get creative with their playlists.  I was very hopeful for the rest of the class in terms of its Mental Dance Party-potential.  However, when the fun of the warmup song was over, it was BAM! standing climb BAM! jumps BAM! seated sprints BAM! standing sprints on a hill BAM! is it over yet?!?!

Just when all those evil thoughts came creeping in (I can’t do it!, I’m too tired!, this song sucks!, can I leave now?, etc.) music saved the day.  “All These Things That I’ve Done” by The Killers came on.  I am not lying when I say that it is one of my all-time favorite songs.  As I heard the opening notes, a huge smile spread across my face, and all those negative thoughts were flushed out of my head as the thoughts: I love this song! I can totally do this! danced around.  We entered a standing climb, resistance 10, hands in 3rd position, the whole exhausting bit.  But the whole time I was saying to myself “I GOT SOUL BUT I’M NOT A SOLDIER!!” And I rocked it. Hard.

So for your next cardio workout, make it a dance party in your head.   Make yourself a 40 minute playlist of all the songs that get you pumped up.  Go for a variety!  [Just a few suggestions: “The Devil Went Down to Georgia” by Charlie Daniels (sprints) “Daylight” Matt and Kim (jumps)  “Keep Holding On” Glee Cast (standing climb)]  Pretend you are a spinning instructor with the best taste in music you could ever imagine.  Then, while you are at the gym, alternate you speed and intensity to the music.  Dance in and out of the saddle.  [Just thought of another one! “Back in the Saddle” Aerosmith]  Make this your priority:  Feel good that you are doing beautiful things for your heart.  And have fun!  Dare yourself to smile while ellipticising.

Time. Truth. Hearts. 😉

Namaste!

PS – Want to hear something freaky?  “All These Things That I’ve Done” came on my Pandora station as I was struggling to get this entry written.  What does it mean?!?!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

